The CQI and IRCA Practitioner Quality Management courses enables you to develop your understanding of management level quality topics. And, how this knowledge applies to your within your role, organisation and industry. These courses are designed specifically for those working in a quality role who wish to develop their knowledge and skills and / or those who aspire to middle management.

The Managing Management Systems (PT203) course provides the practical skills that enable delegates to support the development of management systems. You can find out what you’ll study, how you’ll learn and how you’ll be assessed, below.

Download the Practitioner course brochure here.

(Managing Management Systems – unique ID number 1693).

This course provides the practical skills that enable delegates to work with an organisation and other quality professionals to support the development of management systems and associated management processes using a process-based approach, risk-based thinking and PDCA in a systems context.

  • Management system structure and framework:
    • Systems thinking
    • PDCA thinking model and representation in Annex SL
    • Seven quality management principles (from ISO 9001)
    • Process-based approach
    • Process management and standardisation
    • Risk-based thinking
    • Definitions of customer focus, process approach, risk-based thinking, opportunity, context, policy, quality objectives, support, operation, external providers, documented information, audit programme, management review, non-conformity, corrective action and types of improvement
    • Overview of other related standards (ISO 14001, OHSAS 18001, ISO/IEC 27001).
  • Organisational scope and context:
    • Mapping an organisation as a system. Representation and management of an organisation as a system. Mapping the organisation as a system of processes (core, enabling, strategic, external data generation)
    • Listening processes to gather data on the organisational environment
    • Policy deployment overview. Relationship between customer focus, risk, opportunity and context in setting quality policy and objectives, and overview of a Hoshin Kanri. Attributes of effective quality objectives and plans
    • Management review for learning. Attributes of effective management review conducted for learning.
  • Roles in the management system:
    • System leaders (top management). The role of ‘top management’ in leading the organisation as a system of interrelated process
    • Process owners
    • Process managers
    • Improvement roles.
  • Overview of the role of the following in a management system:
    • Quality objectives: risk, opportunity, strategy development and deployment
    • Risk management and overview of key tools
    • Process management and standardisation
    • Types of improvement: correction, corrective action, continual improvement, breakthrough change, innovation and reorganisation
    • Quality planning
    • Performance measurement, selecting measures and attributes of effective performance evaluation, monitoring and measurement. This will include customer satisfaction, process performance and understanding variation (interpretation of control charts)
    • Auditing for learning and process confirmation. Definitions and uses of assurance, process confirmation, audit, auditing for learning and the role of the auditor
    • Supply chain management.
  • Designing a management system framework:
    • Typical implementation framework
    • Organisational needs for implementation
    • Documented information
    • Key engagement and resource requirements
    • Certification process
    • Assessment and gap analysis.
  • Planning your implementation.

All of our courses are delivered by supported distance learning – which simply means you can study at home or work, at a time – and a pace – which suits you.

Once you’ve enrolled, your dedicated tutor will contact you to arrange your induction.  They’ll go through everything you need to know, and you’ll agree your learning plan.

We’ll also email your login details along with a weblink to our online learning system.  Here you’ll have 24/7 access to everything you need to complete your course – your learning, study support and assessment materials and tutor will provide timely advice, support and feedback throughout your course.

This means:

  • You’re not constrained to set dates/times for training – you can start when you’re ready.
  • You can complete your training at a pace that’s best for you – if you have more time than expected you can accelerate your learning and complete earlier than planned.
  • You can access course learning, assessment and study support materials, receive feedback and support and sit your exam at a time and place that works for you.

Once you’ve successfully completed your course you’ll receive a digital CQI and IRCA accredited certificate.  It really is that simple.

  • Assessment for practitioner courses is two-fold. On successful completion of the course workbook for you will sit a CQI-set, multiple-choice (30 question), open book, one hour exam. The pass mark is 66%.
  • Your exam is typically facilitated through work – if this is not an option, please contact us and we’ll provide you with further information on exam options.
  • When you pass the exam you will be awarded a certificate of achievement.

    The Practitioner courses are aimed at those practising in quality and aspiring towards middle management. At the point of enrolment, we ask you to provide a brief statement on your experience, training, qualifications and study goals (or you can send your CV). Our Programme Lead will assess this to ensure the level is appropriate and will support your development aims.

    Typically, we’d advise at least two years’ experience within a quality management role for these courses.

    Suggested prior learning: Introduction to Management Systems (FD107).

    If you are unsure which level or course is right for you, you can use the CQI tool to help you decide ( Or, get in touch with us to request a free consultation.

    On successful completion you will be awarded a certificate of achievement.

    The Practitioner Certificate in Quality Management is awarded, by the CQI, following the successful completion of all eight Practitioner courses.





    The Foundation Quality Management courses provide you with an understanding of quality management essentials. If you are just starting in your quality career, you should consider these courses
    If you are an experienced quality professional, consider the CQI and IRCA Professional Quality Management training courses. These courses are suitable if you're looking to succeed at a strategic level. What's more, they also meet the knowledge requirements for CQI membership at Chartered Quality Professional level.
    60,000 delegates in over 100 countries across the world take CQI and IRCA Certified Training every year.